Dahrendorf Alumni

Since 2010, over 50 outstanding researchers have worked as part of the Dahrendorf project, bringing their unique experience and expertise to the project. These individuals remain part of our wider network stretching across Europe and belong. Click on the links below to find out more about our Dahrendorf alumni.

  • Former Working Group Chairs
  • Former Post-Doctoral and Visiting Fellows
  • Former Research Associates

Former Working Group Chairs

Helmut K. Anheier, President and Professor of Sociology, Hertie School of Governance
Björn Conrad, Associate Vice President for Research, Mercator Institute for China Studies (MERICS)
Felix Creutzig, Head of Working Group “Land-use, Infrastructures and Transport”, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change (MCC)
Conor Gearty, Professor of Human Rights Law, London School of Economics
Cilja Harders, Director of the “Center for Middle Eastern and North African Politics”, Freie Universität Berlin
Claudia Kemfert, Head of Department “Energy, Transportation, Environment”, German Institute of Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
Genia Kostka, Professor of Governance of Energy and Infrastructure, Hertie School of Governance
Dilek Kurban, Marie Curie Fellow, Hertie School of Governance
Karsten Neuhoff, Head of Department “Climate Policy”, German Institute of Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
Claus Offe, Professor of Political Sociology, Hertie School of Governance
Esra Özyürek, Associate Professor and Chair for Contemporary Turkish Studies at the European Institute, London School of Economics
Luca Taschini, Associate Professorial Research Fellow, London School of Economics
Peter Trubowitz, Professor of International Relations at the London School of Economics
Arne Westad, Professor of U.S.-Asia Relations, Harvard University
Vladislav Zubok, Professor of International History, London School of Economics

Former Post-Doctoral and Visiting Fellows

Andrzej Ancygier, Research Associate at the Environmental Policy Research Centre (FFU), Free University of Berlin
Julie Braun, Director of Curricular Affairs, Hertie School of Governance
Esra Demir, Post-Doctoral fellow, Free University of Berlin
Carolyn Fischer, Senior Fellow at Resources for the Future
Olivia Gippner, Policy Officer, European Commission in Brussels
Frank Goetzke, Associate Professor of Urban and Public Affairs, University of Louisville
Jan Christoph Goldschmidt, Head of Team “Novel Solar Cell Concepts” at Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, Freiburg, Germany
Anna Grear, Professor of Law, Cardiff University
Marcus Hedahl, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, U.S. Naval Academy
Frank Jotzo, Professor; Director, Centre for Climate Economics and Policy, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University
Marie Kortam, Research Associate, Institut français du Proche-Orient, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan
Alanna Krolikowski, Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, Harvard University
Anne-Marie Le Gloannec†, Former Director of Research, International Research Centre of Sciences Po in Paris
Cristian Nitoiu, Lecturer in Politics and International Relations, Aston University in Birmingham
Tim Oliver, LSE Ideas, London School of Economics
Lidia Puka, Senior Analyst, Energy Project at the Polish Institute of International Affairs (PISM)
Ahmed Abd Rabou, Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Economics and Political Science, Cairo University
Alexander Ruser, Representative Professor for Cultural Theory and -Analysis, Zeppelin University
James Rydge, Climate Change Research Economist
Anna Serzysko, Specialist at The National Centre for Emissions Management, Poland
Kyoung Shin, Assistant Professor at the Institute of Technology Management, National Tsing-Hua University
Monika Sus, Dahrendorf Post-Doctoral fellow, Hertie School of Governance
Tiziana Susca, Research Assistant at Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (BAM) in Berlin
Kacper Szulecki, Post-doctoral fellow at the Department of Political Science, University of Oslo
Berna Turam, Director of the International Affairs Program and Professor of Sociology and International Affairs, Northeastern University, Boston
James Woodcock, Senior Research Associate, Centre for Diet and Activity Research (CEDAR), Cambridge
Xuehua Zhang, Professor of Environmental Policy and Resource Management at the Institute of New Energy and Lowcarbon Technology, Sichuan University

Former Research Associates

Rafael Goldzweig, Governance and Innovation Expert, Democracy Reporting International                                                                                                                         Tobias Fella, Dahrendorf Research Associate, Hertie School of Governance
Lisa Haferlach, Former Dahrendorf Research Associate, Hertie School of Governance
Olga Kononykhina, Quantitative sociologist and data scientist, Hertie School of Governance
Cora Lacatus, Career Development Fellow; Institute for International Cultural Relations and the Department of Politics and International Relations, The University of Edinburgh
Franziska Pfeifer, Project Manager, Kiron Open Higher Education
Wiebke Rabe, PhD Candidate, Hertie School of Governance
Liza Ryan, Manager, International Inequalities Institute, London School of Economics
Nikolas Scherer, Project Manager in the areas of climate, security and adaptation, Adelphi
Natalia Telepneva, School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London